Cultural Studies and Social Theory Reading 9/23

I thought this article was very dense and over the top with it’s word choice.  Aside from that, I thought it was interesting how the author chose to focus on the European schools’ of thought while using some American examples such as Madonna.  The timeline aspect of following culture through the years helped me follow the gist a little better (albeit I got lost numerous times in each section).  The study of this overall seems to me to be very dated.  I understand how knowing the history of a topic helps you see how it has developed, but I am not sure our culture is still being shaped by the past.  My generation could careless about how things ‘used to be.’

Leave a Reply

